• Young Technology Award
  • 11 december 2017
  • 18:30 - 22:00
  • Grote Kerk, Oude Markt, Enschede


Join the 10th edition of the Young Technology Award and win €5.000 for your innovative company!

Check out our teaser:

The Young Technology Award recognizes and celebrates young innovative companies! What can you gain from submitting your company?

Six reasons to join The Young Technology Award:

  1. National media coverage;
  2. Impress potential investors;
  3. Meet new partners or employees;
  4. Gain recognition from your peers;
  5. Match your business strategy against others;
  6. Boost your company with the grand prize of €5.000!

From all submitted entries, the six best companies will be selected to join the final which will take place on Monday December 11 2017 in Enschede.

Pitch training
To get you pitch ready, we’ll provide the finalists with a pitch training so you can overwhelm the audience during the final.

We challenge you to subscribe!
Do you believe in the innovative power of your business? Then we look forward to receiving your application! To be able to take part, your entry must meet a number of criteria. You can find the criteria here.

You can register until Monday October 2, 2017 via the button on the right side of this page.

©foto eric brinkhorst



Young Technology Award
The Young Technology Award is intended to put young, innovative companies or innovative business cases in the spotlight. Are you looking for media attention, new customers, new employees and a wider network? And do you want to measure your business strategy against those of other companies? Then join the Young Technology Award!

Entry criteria
To join the Young Technology Award, your entry must meet a number of criteria. You can find the criteria under the tab ‘Criteria’.

Registration and nominations
Registration for the Young Technology Award 2017 has started now! Your entry will consist of a fully completed registration form and the confirmation of receipt. Registration can take place until October 2, 2017After entries have closed on October 2, 2017, the nomination committee will nominate six finalists. The nominated companies will be announced on October 9, 2017.

Pitch training
All the nominees receive a pitch training to get your pitch ready for the final. During this workshop you will learn about the ins and outs of a good pitch. The pitch training takes place on November 8, 2017 5:30pm – 7:30pm. Attendance is mandatory.

The final
At the final, the six nominated companies or business cases will be invited to defend their entries to the jury. The final will take place on the evening of Monday December 11, 2017 at the ‘Grote Kerk’, Oude Markt, Enschede. The language during the final will be English.

Nominees have 3 minutes to present their pitch, after which the jury will ask them a few questions. The pitches will alternate with other elements of the program. Immediately after the jury’s deliberation, the award will be presented to the winning initiative.

Important dates
October 2, 2017
: Closing registration
October 9, 2017: Finalists will be announced
November 8, 2017, 5:30pm – 7:30pm: Pitch training (attendance is mandatory)
December 11, 2017: Final Young Technology Award


Participation in the competition is open to business cases from companies, alliances of companies and knowledge institutions throughout the Netherlands. To be able to take part, your entry must meet a number of criteria:

  • You submit a business case concerning a (technical) innovation that:
     – is formulated based on your own company, and/or
     – is produced by an alliance of companies and/or knowledge institutions, including at least one  business;
  • The company is not more than 10 years old;
  • The company spends significant effort on Research & Development;
  • The company is based on an innovation with demonstrable (potential) turnover and/or successfully achieved milestones;
  • The company is connected with one of the following sectors: High-Tech Systems & Materials (HTSM), Plastics & Chemicals, Healthcare/Life Sciences, ICT, or crossovers that have been created between these sectors and the Agrofood, Leisure Economy, Energy and Construction sectors.

If you do not meet these criteria, registration is insufficient to join the Young Technology Award 2017.


The moderator of final of the Young Technology Award 2017 is Rens de Jong!

Rens de Jong – Moderator / Entrepreneur / Radio & TV presenter

His energy, warmth, and sense of humor, combined with a sharp and in-depth knowledge, make Rens de Jong a specialist conference moderator. Rens takes visitors through a format full of content. He leads the debates, makes sure people tell their best stories, and gets the audience engaged. Combined with an infectious energy. he makes your event a real show. Over the past 10 years he has moderated large and small events for Google, ING, ABN AMRO, Oracle, and 500 other clients. Time and time again he has been askedback the following year. His clients describe him as intelligent, energetic and a source of advice in how to create a great event.

Rens is a well known TV & Radio talk show host in the Netherlands. At the national commercial news station BNR News Radio he presented “Doing Business with Rens de Jong.” For the national B2B TV station RTLZ he hosts the Business talk show “Z in Business” and he hosts the program “The Growth Challenge”. His specialties are innovation, sustainability, technology, entrepreneurship and human capital. In 2014 he was elected “moderator of the year”.

Wall of fame

Lumicks – winnaar 2016

SoundEnergy – winnaar 2015


Flexxolutions – winnaar 2014


4Silence – winnaar 2013  – Coblue Cybersecurity winnaar Publieksprijs 2013

eb140130 YTA 4silence1 (1)

Dovideq Medical – winnaar 2012

YTA 2012

Ostendum – winnaar 2011 – Rentalite – winnaar Publieksprijs 2011

YTA 2011

Solmates – winnaar 2010

YTA 2010

Blue4Green – winnaar 2009

YTA 2009

Virobuster – winnaar 2008


Contact / Sponsors

For more information and questions about the Young Technology Award you can contact the organization via events@novelt.com.

The Young Technology Award is realized and organized by Novel-T, EY, Oost NL and Leap. The Innovation Agency.

Register now!

Register here for the Young Technology Award 2017!

Important dates:
October 2, 2017
: Closing registration
October 9, 2017: Finalists will be announced
November 8, 2017, 5:30 – 7:30pm: Pitch training (attendance is mandatory)
December 11, 2017: Final Young Technology Award