SoundEnergy wins Young Technology Award 2015!

YTAwinnaarSoundEnergy is the winner of the Young Technology Award 2015, taking home the grand prize of €5.000,- as well as being the peoples choice of the evening, winning the additional audience award of €1.000,-. Herbert Berkhout of SoundEnergy scooped up both of the prizes during the thrilling finale with his inspiring pitch. The Young Technology Award is designed for young, innovative companies of the Netherlands, and the finale this year was held in the Grote Kerk in Enschede.

The winner

SoundEnergy is a technological startup that is developing new technologies to reduce fossil fuel consumption, particularly in the climate control of buildings. SoundEnergy has developed a durable device in which heat can be used to produce cold, therefore taking very little energy to cool buildings. The technology also works on hot water collected by VTC-panels (Vacuum tube solar collectors), which can convert the hot water to cold. The technology uses the noble gas Argon, an inert gas, so there is no corrosion, or a lot of maintenance required.

Jury verdict

The quality of the finalists was extremely high this year, making it a difficult decision for the jury. After a long deliberation, the jury chose SoundEnergy as the winner of the grand prize. This innovative technology was, according to the jury, promising, extraordinary and socially relevant. The technology is still in an early phase but the jury encouraged SoundEnergy to continue to work on the technology to develop it further.

The jury of the Young Technology Award 2015 consisted of Onno van Veldhuizen (Mayor of Enschede), Jan Davids (company secretary of Reggeborgh Invest), Eveline Buter (Manager Product Market Combination Industry and Energy at Witteveen + Bos) and Hans Osnabrugge (CEO Talk360, Brooklyn Ventures Parnter). The jury based their decision on a number of criteria including, technological or commercial innovation, market, proven success of the innovation and the company, the quality of the company and the quality of the entrepreneurs.

Audience award

In addition to the main prize of evening, the audience were also offered the chance to vote for which finalist they thought was the most impressive and to win the audience award of €1.000,-. From this, it was decided that SoundEnergy was the clear favourite for the audience as well and so Herbert Berkhout took both prizes from the night home with him.


Six finalists were nominated to have a chance to win the Young Technology Award. The other five finalists that pitched on the night included 360SportsIntelligence, KITE Robotics, LipoCoat, Symetrics and TriboForm Engineering.

About the Young Technology Award

The Young Technology Award is an initiative of Powered by Twente Innovation Events in collaboration with Rabobank Enschede-Haaksbergen, EY (Ernst & Young), PPM Oost, Leap. The Innovation Agency and Kennispark Twente. This is this eighth year that the event has taken place, and it aims to stimulate innovation in the business sector in the Netherlands. The event provides a stage for young, innovative technology companies to promote their businesses to a wide audience.

Fotografie: Eric Brinkhorst